GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.1591 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 23RD JULY, 2014/SRAVANA 1, 1936 (SAKA)

BANNED UNDERGROUND GROUPS IN NORTH-EASTERN REGION

1591. SHRI KHEKIHO ZHIMOMI:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of underground groups banned by Union Government in North- Eastern Region, particularly in Nagaland;

(b) whether it is a fact that Union Government has entered into ceasefire agreement with some groups and if so, the details thereof;

(c) whether it is also a fact that till date no substantial progress has been achieved inspite of several rounds of talks; and

(d) if so, the details thereof and the latest status of talks?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI KIREN RIJIJU)

(a): The details of banned underground groups by Union Government in North Eastern Region are as follows -

- (i) <u>Assam:</u>
 - 1. United Liberation Front of Assam (ULFA).
 - 2. National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB).

(ii) <u>Meghalaya:</u>

- 1. Hynniewtrep National Liberation Council (HNLC).
- 2. Garo National Liberation Army (GNLA)
- (iii) <u>Tripura:</u>
 - 1. All Tripura Tiger Force (ATTF)
 - 2. National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT).
- (iv) Manipur:
 - 1. People's Liberation Army (PLA).
 - 2. Revolutionary People's Front (RPF).
 - 3. United National Liberation Front (UNLF).
 - 4. People's Revolutionary Party of Kangleipak (PREPAK).
 - 5. Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP).

- 6. Kanglei Yaol Kanba Lup (KYKL).
- 7. Coordination Committee Cor-Com (conglomerate of six valley-based UG outfits)
- 8. Manipur People's Liberation Front (MPLF).
- (v) Nagaland

There are no banned underground groups in Nagaland.

(b): Yes Sir, Union Government has entered into ceasefire agreement with National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Isak Muivah)[NSCN/IM], National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) [NSCN/K] & National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khole-Kitovi) [NSCN/KK]

(c) & (d): No Sir, substantial progress has been achieved because of peace talks and agreements with UGs. Tripartite dialogue is underway with many factions of the UGs with whom Suspension of Operation (SoO) has been signed for a limited period which is reviewed periodically. The violence level due to militancy has reduced considerably and many terrorist outfits have surrendered after laying down arms. Tripura, Mizoram and Sikkim remain peaceful and in Arunachal Pradesh, there is general atmosphere of peace.

The details of peace talks and agreement and the current status are as follows -

<u>Assam</u>

- UPDS (United People's Democratic Solidarity) signed Memorandum of Settlement (MoS) on 25.11.2011 and subsequently dissolved itself.
- DHD (Dima Halam Daogah) which signed the MoS on 8th October, 2012 has also subsequently dissolved itself.
- ULFA (United Liberation Front of Assam) talks are continuing. Last meeting held on 26.6.2013. SoO is from 3.9.2011 and is continuing indefinitely.
- NDFB(P) [National Democratic Front of Bodoland (Progressive)] signed the SoO agreement first on 1.6.2005 and is presently valid upto 30th September, 2014.
- NDFB(RD) [National Democratic Front of Bodoland (Ranjan Daimairy)] a splinter group of NDFB has signed SoO agreement on 29.11.2013. SoO is valid upto 30.9.2014.
- 9 Adivasi outfits surrendered on 24.1.2012. Their demands are being discussed.

R.S.US.Q.NO.1591 FOR 23.07.2014

<u>Meghalaya</u>

 SoO agreement with Achik National Volunteers Council (ANVC) has been extended upto 31st March, 2015 Government has approved Agreed Text for Settlement (ATFS) to be signed between Government of India, Government of Meghalaya and ANVC.

<u>Manipur</u>

- With Kuki National Organisation (KNO) & United Progressive Front (UPF) the SoO agreement exists since August/2008 and is valid upto 21.8.2014.
- 19 UG outfits signed MoU on 13.2.2013. United People's Party of Kangleipak (UPPK) with 80 cadres surrendered and signed MoU on 24.5.2013.

Nagaland

 Union Government has entered into ceasefire agreement with National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Isak Muivah)[NSCN/IM], with National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) [NSCN/K] and National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khole-Kitovi) [NSCN/KK]

* * * * * *