GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2686 TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10th AUGUST, 2016/SRAVANA 19, 1938 (SAKA)

SETTING UP OF MORE CFSLS IN THE COUNTRY

2686. SHRI TIRUCHI SIVA:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the total number of Central ForensicScience Laboratories (CFSLs) in thecountry;
- (b) the detailed list of the CFSLs and the States for which they fulfil the forensic requirements;
- (c) the details regarding the sanctionedstrength and the vacancies in each of theseCFSLs;
- (d) whether Government intends to setup more CFSLs in the coming years; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI HANSRAJ GANGARAM AHIR)

(a) There are six Central Forensic Science Laboratories of Directorate of Forensic Science Services (DFSS) in the country located at Bhopal, Chandigarh, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata & Pune. One more Central Forensic Science Laboratory (7th) is under the control of Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) located at New Delhi.

RSUS Q.No.2686 FOR 10.08.2016

- (b) The detailed list of the CFSLs and the States for which they cater to the forensic requirements is given in Annexure. The CFSL, CBI is located at New Delhi and has one working unit each at Chennai and Mumbai. The CFSL(CBI) cater to the needs of CBI, Delhi Police, Central Government Agencies, Judiciary and other States.
- (c) The details of the sanctioned strength/working strength and Vacancies in each of the CFSLs are under:-

Name of	Sanctioned	Working	Actual	Vacancies
CFSL	Strength	Strength		
Chandigarh	135	107	90	17
Hyderabad	142	106	76	30
Kolkata	125	101	74	27
Guwahati *	00	29	13	16
Pune *	00	30	09	21
Bhopal *	00	29	13	16
CFSL(CBI)	182	182	104	78

^{*}Transferred from other CFSLs, temporarily for kick starting of the three new CFSLs at Bhopal, Guwahati & Pune.

(d) and (e): At present there is no proposal under consideration of the Government for setting up more CFSLs.

JURISDICTION OF SIX CFSLs

(a) (b) (c) (d)	Punjab (b) Himachal Pradesh (C) Chandigarh(UT) Uttarakhand Delhi & NCR		CFSL, Bhopal)Madhya Pradesh Uttar Pradesh)Rajasthan (d) Chhattisgarh			
CFSL,	Hyderabad			CFS	L, Guwahati	
	Andhra Pradesh	(a)	Assam		<u>, </u>	
(b)	Tamil Nadu	(b)	Manipur			
(c)	Kerala		(c) Mizoram			
(d)	Lakshadweep			(d)	Meghalaya	
(e)	Karnataka			(e)	Sikkim	
(f)	Puducherry			(f)	Nagaland	
((h)Tripura			(g)	Arunachal Pradesh	
CFSL,	Kolkata			CFS	L, Pune	
(a)	Orissa	(a)	Maharashtra			
(b)	Bihar	(b)	Gujarat			
(c)	Jharkhand	(c)	Goa			
(d)	West Bengal	(d)	Daman &	Diu		
(e)	(e) Andaman & Nicobar Islands			(e)	Dadar& Nagar Haveli	