GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2500

TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 10th DECEMBER, 2024/ AGRAHAYANA 19, 1946 (SAKA)

LWE AFFECTED DISTRICTS

†2500. SHRI ANIL BALUNI: DR. KIRSAN NAMDEO:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of districts presently affected with the Left Wing Extremism (LWE);
- (b) whether any decline has been witnessed in the number of districts affected with the LWE and in the violence affected geographical areas; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI NITYNANAD RAI)

- (a) At present there are 38 districts affected by Left Wing Extremism (LWE) in the country.
- (b) & (c):
 - To address the Left Wing Extremism (LWE) menace holistically,
 Government of India (GoI) approved 'National Policy and Action Plan
 to address LWE' in 2015. The Policy envisages a multi-pronged
 strategy involving security related measures, development

interventions, ensuring rights and entitlements of local communities, etc.

- The resolute implementation of the policy has resulted in consistent decline in violence and constriction of geographical spread. The LWE violence incidents have reduced by 73% from the high level of LWE violence incidents in 2010. The resultant deaths (Civilians + Security Forces) have reduced by 86% from all time high of 1005 in 2010 to 138 in 2023. In the current year 2024 (up to 15.11.2024), there has been a sharp reduction of 25% in LWE perpetrated incidents.
- The geographical spread of LWE violence has also constricted substantially with reduction of LWE affected districts from 126 across 10 states in 2013 to only 38 districts in 2024 (with effect from April-2024) across 09 states. (List of 38 LWE affected districts is at Annexure)
- The number of Police Stations reporting LWE related violence has significantly reduced from 465 Police Stations in 2010 to 171 Police Stations in the year 2023.

LIST OF 38 LWE AFFECTED DISTRICTS

S.No.	State	Districts	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	01	Alluri Sitaramraju
2.	Chhattisgarh	15	Bastar, Bijapur, Dantewada, Dhamtari, Gariyaband, Kanker, Kondagaon, Mahasamund, Narayanpur, Rajnandgaon, Mohalla-Manpur- Ambagarh chowki, Khairgarh- Chhuikhadan- Gandai, Sukma, Kabirdham, Mungeli.
3.	Jharkhand	05	Giridih, Gumla, Latehar, Lohardaga, West Singhbhum.
4.	Kerala	02	Wayanad, Kannur.
5.	Madhya Pradesh	03	Balaghat, Mandla, Dindori.
6.	Maharashtra	02	Gadchiroli, Gondia.
7.	Odisha	07	Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Bolangir, Malkangiri, Nabrangpur, Nuapada, Rayagada.
8.	Telangana	02	Bhadradri-Kothagudem, Mulugu.
9.	West Bengal	01	Jhargram.
Total		38	