Constitution of Committee to draft a new Police Act

Government of India has constituted a Committee in September 2005 to draft a new Police Act to replace the Police Act of 1861. The members of the Committee include Shri Soli Sorabjee, former Attorney General, Government of India; Dr. NC Saxena, IAS(Retd), former Secretary to the Government of India; Prof. NR Madhav Menon, Director, National Judicial Academy, Bhopal; Prof. Ranbir Singh, Director, National Law Institute, Hyderabad; Shri Ajay Raj Sharma, IPS(Retd), Director General, Bureau of Police Research & Development; Shri V.N. Gaur, Joint Secretary (Police); Shri Kamal Kumar, Director, SVPNPA; and Shri N.C. Joshi, DG, BPR&D. Joint Secretary (Police Modernisation) Shri Harminder Raj Singh is the Convener of the Committee. Dr. UNB Rao, IPS(Retd.) is the Secretary to the Committee.

- 2. The Committee has been tasked to draft a new Police Act in view of the changing role/responsibility of police and the challenges before it especially on account of the growth and spread of insurgency/militancy/naxalism, etc. The new Act is also to include measures for attitudinal changes of police including working methodology to elicit cooperation and assistance of the community; the new Police Act should also reflect the expectations of the people regarding the police in a modern democratic society. The use of scientific investigation methods to strengthen the criminal justice system, enabling the police to tackle futuristic trends and organized crime including cyber crime and technological additions in the hands of the criminals etc. also have to be properly incorporated in the new Act. Besides, the concern for human rights, weaker sections, women and the people belonging to Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes have to be addressed.
- 3. The Committee has been given a time period of six months to come out with the draft of the new Police Act.
- 4. All concerned may please send their valuable suggestion for consideration of the Committee whitch may be addressed to the Secretary, PADC, Ministry of Home Affairs, Jaisalmer House, Man Singh Road, New Delhi-11. Suggestions may please be sent as soon as possible. The office of the committee is located in Room No.24 (DS), Jaisalmer House, 26, Man Singh Road, New Delhi 110011, with Telefax No.011-23070574. The e-mail address is padc-mha@nic.in.