GOVERNMENT OF ASSAM POLITICAL (A) DEPARTMENT :: DISPUR Floor | Block Assam Secretariat Dispur Guwal

2nd Floor, I Block, Assam Secretariat, Dispur, Guwahati-6 Telefax No. 0361-2261421 :: eMail : home.assam@gov.in

DDEDC DV THE COVEDNO

ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR NOTIFICATION

No. HMA-19015/9/2019-Political(A)/Pt-1/(eCF-200043)/121 :: Whereas, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (Act No. 28 of 1958), the Government of Assam declared the areas of four districts—Tinsukia, Dibrugarh, Charaideo, and Sivasagar—as "Disturbed Area" vide notification No. HMA-19015/9/2019-Political(A)/Pt-1/104, dated 08/10/2024, with effect from 01/10/2024, for a period of six months;

Whereas, following the receipt of reports from various security agencies, it has been observed that the overall security situation in Assam has significantly improved, particularly over the last three and a half years, due to the sustained efforts and proactive counter-insurgency measures by the Assam Police and security forces;

Whereas, in light of these improvements, the Government of Assam believes that the "Disturbed Area" status under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, need not be extended in Dibrugarh district beyond 31st March 2025;

And whereas, despite these improvements, there have been sporadic incidents of IEDs being planted by ULFA (I), the only militant group active in the state, in various districts, alongside their involvement in kidnapping for ransom to fund their activities;

Therefore, the Government of Assam recommended that the "Disturbed Area" status under AFSPA be continued for an additional six months in the three districts of Tinsukia, Charaideo, and Sivasagar;

And whereas, the Government of Assam submitted a proposal to the Government of India, Ministry of Home Affairs, through letter No. ECF-200043/119 dated 11/03/2025;

And whereas, the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India, in its letter No. 11011/51/2015-NE.V dated 24/03/2025, has communicated its agreement with the State Government's view to retain the "Disturbed Area" status under AFSPA for an additional six months in the three districts of Tinsukia, Charaideo, and Sivasagar, beyond 31st March 2025;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958, and in continuation of the earlier notification vide HMA-19015/9/2019-Political(A)/Pt-1/104, dated 08/10/2024, the Governor of Assam is pleased to declare the areas of **Tinsukia, Charaideo, and Sivasagar districts** as "Disturbed Area" for an additional period of six months, effective from 01/04/2025, unless withdrawn earlier.

Secretary to the Government of Assam, Home & Political Departments. Copy for favour of kind information and necessary action to:

- 1. The Union Home Secretary to the Govt. of India, New Delhi.
- 2. The Addl. Secretary (NE), Ministry of Home Affairs, New Delhi.
- 3. The Director General of Police, Assam, Guwahati.
- 4. The Director General of Police, Arunachal Pradesh.
- 5. The Director General of Police, Meghalaya.
- 6. The Director General of Police, Nagaland.
- 7. The Principal Chief Conservator of Forest (PCCF) & HoFF, Assam.
- 8. The Spl. Addl. Director General of Police (SB), Assam, Guwahati-19.
- 9. The Inspector General of Police (Law & Order), Assam, Guwahati.
- 10. The Inspector General of Police (Security), Assam, Guwahati.
- 11. The Joint Director, SIB, MHA, Govt. of India, Chachal, Guwahati
- 12. The Joint Director, SIB, MHA, Govt. of India, Kohima, Nagaland.
- 13. The Addl. Director General (NEZ), CRPF, Amerigog, Namile, Guwahati.
- 14. The Inspector General (NEZ), CRPF, Guwahati.
- 15. The Inspector General, CRPF, Jorhat.
- 16. The Inspector General, BSF, Guwahati Frontier, Patgaon, Guwahati.
- 17. The Inspector General, BSF, Meghalaya Frontier, Shillong.
- 18. The Inspector General, BSF, Mizoram & Cachar Frontier, Silchar.
- 19. The Inspector General, Frontier HQRS, SSB, Khanapara, Guwahati.
- 20. The Inspector General, Frontier HQRS, SSB, Tezpur.
- 21. The Inspector General of Police, BTAD, Kokrajhar.
- 22. The Commissioner, SB, Shillong, Meghalaya.
- 23. The Commissioner of Divisions, Assam (All).
- 24. The Commissioner of Police, Guwahati, Assam.
- 25. The Secretary to the Hon'ble Governor of Assam, Raj-Bhawan, Guwahati.
- 26. The Col. Tac, HQ 4 Corps (Tac.), C/0 99 APO.
- 27. The District Commissioners (All)
- 28. The Deputy Inspector General of Police, Ranges (All)
- 29. The Superintendents of Police (All)
- 30. The PS to Hon'ble Ministers (All)
- 31. The Director of Information and Public Relations, Assam for publicity through Electronic and Print Media.
- 32. The Director, printing and Stationery, Assam, Govt. Press, Bamunimaidan, Guwahati-21. He is requested to publish the Notification in the next issue of the Assam Gazette.

Copy for favour of information to:

- 33. The Staff Officer to the Chief Secretary, Assam, Dispur.
- 34. The PPS to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Assam, Dispur.
- 35. The PS to the Addl. Chief Secretary, Home & Political Departments, Dispur.
- 36. The PS to the Principal Secretary to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Assam, Dispur
- 37. The PA to the Secretary, Home & Political Departments, Dispur.

By order etc.

Addl. Secretary to the Government of Assam, Home & Political Departments.