LIST OF RECIPIENTS OF BHARAT RATNA

ς.

S. No.	NAME	AWARDED IN
1.	Shri Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972)	1954
2.	Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975)	1954
3.	Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman (1888-1970)	1954
4.	Dr. Bhagwan Das (1869-1958)	1955
5,	Dr. Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya (1861-1962)	1955
б.	Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru (1889 -1964)	1955
7.	Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant (1887-1961)	1957
8.	Dr. Dhondo Keshav Karve (1858-1962)	1958
9,	Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy (1882-1962)	1961
10.	Shri Purushottam Das Tandon (1882-1962)	1961
11.	Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963)	1962
12,	Dr. Zakir Husain (1897-1969)	1963
13.	Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane (1880-1972)	1963
14.	Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (Posthumous) (1904-1966)	1966
15.	Smt. Indira Gandhi (1917-1984)	1971
16.	Shri Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894-1980)	1975
17.	Shri Kumaraswamy Kamraj (Posthumous) (1903-1975)	1976
18.	Mother Mary Teresa Bojaxhiu (Mother Teresa) (1910- 1997)	1980
19.	Shri Acharya Vinoba Bhave (Posthumous) (1895-1982)	1983
20,	Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1890-1988)	1987
21,	Shri Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran (Posthumous) (1917-1987)	1988
22,	Dr. Bhim Rao Ramji Ambedkar (Posthumous) (1891-1956)	1990
23.	Dr. Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela (1918-2013)	1990
24.	Shri Rajiv Gandhi (Posthumous) (1944-1991)	1991

25.	Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (Posthumous) (1875-1950)	1991
26.	Shri Morarji Ranchhodji Desal (1896-1995)	1991
27.	Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (Posthumous) (1888-1958)	1992
28.	Shri Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata (1904-1993)	1992
29.	Shri Satyajit Ray (1922-1992)	1992
30.	Shri Gulzarilal Nanda (1898-1998)	1997
31.	Smt. Aruna Asaf Ali (Posthumous) (1909-1996)	1997
32.	Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (b-1931)	1997
33,	Smt. Madurai Shanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi (1916- 2005)	1998
34.	Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam (1910-2000)	1998
35,	Shri Jayaprakash Narayan (Posthumous) (1902-1979)	1999
36.	Professor Amartya Sen (b-1933)	1999
37.	Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (Posthumous) (1890-1950)	1999
38.	Pandit Ravi Shankar (1920-2012)	1999
39.	Sushri Lata Dinanath Mangeshkar (b-1929)	2001
40.	Ustad Bismillah Khan (1916-2006)	2001
41.	Pandit Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi (1922-2011)	2009
42.	Prof. C. N. R. Rao (b-1934)	2014
43.	Shri Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (b-1973)	2014
44.	Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya(Posthumous) (1861-1946)	2015
45.	Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee (b.1924)	2015

, . . . 1

1

.**.** .